The Hobbit – Review and Giveaway

Sometimes I wonder where I was during my school years, I was actually a pretty model student, I wasn’t part of the ‘in’ crowd and I wasn’t particularly a geek, I just plodded along at my own pace, got my work done and came away with pretty good grades. But when I talk to other people about books and films, they will often say “oh yeah I read/watched that at school” and I wonder why I didn’t. One such book is The Hobbit.

I remember when The Lord of the Rings came out at the cinema I absolutely loved it and Hubby just laughed at me when I told him I’d never read The Hobbit. Well, for those of you who don’t already know The Hobbit has now been made into a film too and will hit our cinemas in December this year. As is often the way when books are made into films, the book has been re-released and I was asked if I would like to review a copy so I jumped at the chance to see what all the hype was about.

I am now just a couple of chapters from the end of the book and I must admit I found the first chapter pretty hard going. To be honest, it’s the first “fantasy” type book that I have read before so it took me a while to get there but from the second chapter onwards I have been hooked and will often be found reading way past my bedtime and looking worse for wear the next morning. Obviously I don’t want to tell you too much about the book but it basically follows Bilbo Baggins (The Hobbit) and his adventures with a group of dwarves. There is the odd chapter with Gandalf whom I loved in Lord of the Rings and the first meeting with the creepy Gollum. Reading The Hobbit has answered a few questions that I had from Lord of the Rings because it precedes it.

If you would like to re-live old memories and refresh your mind before the film comes out this winter or if, like me, you haven’t read the book yet then I have secured two copies of The Hobbit to give away to Mummy Matters’ readers, all you have to do is enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter entry form below.

DISCLAIMER: I was sent a copy of The Hobbit for the purpose of this review. All words and opinions are my own and may not be copied without my permission.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

57 Comments

  • ki cooper

    July 11, 2012 at 6:35 am

    I want to read this book like you I have never read any fantasy books! and then if I win I will also pass onto my beautiful Grandaughter Ebony as she would also love it and is an avid bookreader …takes after her Grandma!! :-))
    As a young child I loved famous 5 & secret 7 amongst other Enid Blyton books!!!

  • olivia kirby

    July 11, 2012 at 8:16 am

    My favourite books were the Mrs Pepperpot books and a book called The Lonely House.

  • Jane English

    July 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    I remember this from school. Three years our English Lit teacher made us study this book & I wonder why I have never liked the Lord of the Rings flims!
    Mr Bird had a lot to answer for!

    But he also introduced me to Charles Dickens with Great Expectations being my favourite book ever! But also to The Chrysalids by John Wyndham whihx is probably fourth or fifth on my all time list, if you haven’t read it I recommend it.

    I also loved anything by Enid Blyton, still do, her books were always page turners. I had the pleasure of re-reading them to my own children, so had a second helping of them.

    I’d love to just read The Hobbit again without having to read beytween the lines & think why has he done that etc. I just enjoy reading I’m not bothered about all the things that can be read into the text!

  • Katrina Day-Reilly

    July 11, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I enjoyed the adventures of adrian mole

  • Cat Williams

    July 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    I’d love to read this, completely missed out when I was young.

  • Cheryl Edwards

    July 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    I love this book and film.

  • Tink Rhonda Lee Mse

    July 15, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    I have always wanted to read the hobbit.

  • Allan Smith

    July 15, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    B.F.G

  • suan

    July 15, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Never read this book but always thought I should

  • Emma

    July 15, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    love to read this and compare it to the film.

  • Jen Boucher

    July 15, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    I loved The Famous Five series or any Enid Blyton book. They’ve been read so many times that they ended up having to be replaced with new copies (several times!)

  • lana leman

    July 15, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    peter pan

  • Karen Barrett

    July 15, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Anything by Enid Blyton… I just couldn’t put them down.

  • jennifer thorpe

    July 15, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    the lion, the witch & the wardrobe was my ultimate favourite

  • Gill B

    July 15, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Think I must be a bit odd but when I was little I loved the English version of the book Der Struwwelpeter by Henrich Hoffman. My favourite was The Story of the Thumbsucker where the tailor cuts off the boys thumbs with scissors. I remember all the stories were terrifying but all based on good morals!!

  • Alison

    July 15, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I really loved the Aristocrats

  • claire hooper

    July 16, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Famous five books by enid blyton x

  • Julie Picton

    July 16, 2012 at 11:00 am

    The Magic Faraway Tree

  • Emma K

    July 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    I loved to read the hobbit as a kid as we studied it in class and even our groups in that class for all studies were named after characters. I was in Baggins!

  • Mickie Bull

    July 16, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Blyton’s Faraway Tree series!

  • Victoria Boland

    July 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton was my favourite.

  • SARAH LAMBERT

    July 16, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    My fav book as a child was elf and the shoe maker,Then when i got into my teens it was little women i loved that book,Still makes me smile now 🙂 Xx

  • Ness Gorton

    July 18, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Charlie & The Chocolate Factory was & still is my favourite.

  • Emma J Lowe

    July 18, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    i remember enjoying the cheerleading series of books from my early teenager years

  • andrea miles

    July 19, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    the lord of the rings – my daughter loves it too

  • tamalyn roberts

    July 21, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    as a chiil i read all the famous five books and i just love all enid blyton books like the faraway tree and the wishing chair, they took me into a great imagination and i loved to read so i would be taken into this mysterious fun world

  • Julz

    July 21, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    The Lord of the Rings Trilogy – great for the imagination!

  • Solange

    July 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    The Famous Five by Enid Blyton

  • sairz eastham

    July 23, 2012 at 10:45 am

    anything by enid blyton, then later (and still!) terry pratchett’s disc world books

  • Christina Marriott (@Chrissy4116)

    July 23, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    The faraway tree 🙂

  • Jesse Partington

    July 23, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Like you I never read “The Hobbit” when I was younger. This would therefore represent an excellent prize for me and I would welcome the chance to read it now.

  • Tracey Anne Berry

    July 24, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    A story that has stayed with me since we read it at school over a whole term is a book called (I think!) A Pair Of Jesus Boots – it had quite adult themes for us at the age of 11 but it enthralled us all as we couldn’t wait for the next week to read the next part – fascinating! xx

  • kerry Locke

    July 24, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    I Loved C S Lewis when I was Younger – I fell in love with Aslan and the children who went through the wardrobe ( except edmund boo!!!!! )

  • Kelly

    July 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I really enjoy reading, as a child I loved Enid Blighton and Roald Dahl 🙂

  • Karen M

    July 25, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I loved reading the Famous Five books back in the seventies. I always wanted a dog like Timmy.

  • Alison

    July 26, 2012 at 4:05 am

    I used to love the Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boy books, great detective stories

  • Phyllis Ellett

    July 26, 2012 at 4:11 am

    Loved all the Famous Five books.

  • Heather Shaw

    July 26, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    My favourite kid books were/ are peepo, burglar bill, spot and famous 5

  • jamesmum

    July 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    i used to read Goodnight Mr. Tom. x

  • di dilly

    July 27, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    I loved Enid Blyton’s Malory Towers. I used to go to sleep at night dreaming that my parents would send me to this wonderful boarding school but of course they never did.

  • norris

    July 28, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Georges marvelous medicine

  • Emma Jackson

    July 28, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Magic faraway Tree was my fav and The Secret garden was one I’d never read until a month or so ago and I loved it 🙂

  • katherine grieve

    July 29, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I loved, and still do, the magic faraway tree, i used to read it to my sister every night and now i read it to my daughter 🙂

  • Becky John

    July 29, 2012 at 10:26 am

    The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley, I read that book so many times, and enjoyed reading it again to my children.

    1. IamMummyMatters

      July 29, 2012 at 10:28 am

      I have just found this is my old book collection, I might start reading it to my daughter too 🙂

  • Jaci

    July 29, 2012 at 10:33 am

    I loved anything by Roald Dahl and still do!!

  • Claire Butler

    July 29, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Loved the famous five books by Enid Blyton

  • Jenny Rogers

    July 29, 2012 at 11:49 am

    I read lots of Enid Blyton and the Chalet School books, but then the Hobbit became one of my most favourite books.

  • LAURA MAGPIE STERLING

    July 29, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I love the faraway tree

  • Lisa Wilkinson

    July 29, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    I loved the Point Horror range when I was growing up.

  • Sarah Ballantyne

    July 29, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I loved Little Women. It is so wonderfully written I felt as though I really knew Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy. I hope my daughters both enjoy it too.

  • Dawn Totton

    July 29, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    Anything by Enid Blyton.

  • Alice Hindley

    July 29, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    My favourite was The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe by CS Lewis

  • Paul Witney

    July 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Charlotte’s Web

  • Lani Nash

    July 29, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    I loved the hobbit and would love to read this to the little ones. I also loved everything by Roald Dahl; Fantastic Mr Fox was my favourite!

  • stephen popple

    July 30, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    My favourite childhood book was Swallows and Amazons, especially when we used to stay up in the Lake District where the story seemed more real

  • Georgina Ball

    July 30, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    The Hairy McClairy books lol!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Post Next Post